2014 Dressage Canada Election – High Performance Committee Chair Declared

Dressage Canada is pleased to announce that nominee Gina Smith has been elected as the High Performance Committee Chair for a three year term.  Smith has been the volunteer Chair of High Performance since 2012 and she will continue in this role until the end of 2016 having received the highest number of votes in the recent election.

Smith is one of Canada’s most accomplished dressage athletes with a list of impressive credentials spanning 30 years including; World Cup Finals, Pan Am Games (Team Gold-1991 Havana Cuba) and three Olympic Games (1988 Seoul South Korea [Bronze Medal], 1992 Barcelona Spain, 1996 Atlanta Georgia, USA).

Smith brings a depth of knowledge to the position that will continue to prove invaluable as the Committee strives to fulfill the objectives of the High Performance Committee.

In addition to her work on the High Performance Committee, Smith has volunteered as a member of Dressage Canada High Performance Criteria Sub Committee, as well as the Dressage Canada Coaching Committee and Dressage Canada Board. In 2010, Smith was inducted into the Brockville Sports Hall of Fame and was the assistant Chef d’Equipe to the Dressage Team for the 2010 World Equestrian Games.

She acted as Chef for the 2011 Pan Am Games in Guadalajara, Mexico and the 2012 Olympic Games in London, England. Dressage Canada congratulates Smith on the election result and recognizes her dedication and passion for the sport.

“Together with the strong membership of the present High Performance Committee, I look forward to supporting the vision and goals outlined in High Performance priorities, and developing the sport to achieve excellence on the International stage. Fantastic fundraising initiatives are already underway which will help greatly to carry out all the wishes High Performance has.  Thanks to everyone for your continued support in the development of Canadian Dressage,” said Smith.

We wish to thank nominees Tony Eames and Elizabeth Steacie for their candidature in this year’s election.


Filed Under