Eighth Jump Canada Hall of Fame Gala a Resounding Success

The eighth edition of the Jump Canada Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Gala, presented by BMO Financial Group, was held on Sunday, November 9, 2014, in Toronto, ON.

Over 200 guests gathered in the elegant Governor’s Ballroom at the Liberty Grand Entertainment Complex to welcome this year’s distinguished inductees into the Jump Canada Hall of Fame. Sandra Sillcox was posthumously inducted in the category of Official; Killer Tom, owned by Sam Son Farms, was inducted as Hunter Horse; the Bassin family was inducted in the category of Sponsor; and the 1987 Pan American Games Gold Medal Team, comprised of Laura Tidball Balisky, Lisa Carlsen, Hugh Graham and Ian Millar, was inducted in the Team category.

“Once again this year, the warmth and sense of community among those gathered was palpable,” said Mark Samuel, Chairman of the Jump Canada Hall of Fame. “It was great to return to the Liberty Grand and to honour our Inductees and our industry in such a beautiful and connected way.”

The Hall of Fame Gala has quickly grown into an annual favourite with attendees having the opportunity to mingle during a black-tie reception before gathering for dinner and the induction ceremonies. Videos highlight the contributions of each inductee to Canadian hunter and jumper sport, allowing guests to reminisce and recall the sport’s greatest memories. As always, induction and acceptance speeches ran the gamut from factual to humorous to poignant.

The Jump Canada Hall of Fame Gala was also honoured to once again host the presentation of the annual Jump Canada Awards to the Official, Owner, Sponsor, and Volunteer of the Year.

Photos from the 2014 Jump Canada Hall of Fame Gala can be viewed by visiting this link and entering the password ‘Jump Canada’

A special thank you to this year’s sponsors, including presenting sponsor BMO Financial Group, Equestrian Management Group (EMG), Equine Canada, Friends of the Jump Canada Hall of Fame, Jump Canada, Sam Son Farms, and Thunderbird Show Park.

The Jump Canada Hall of Fame was created in 2006 to recognize outstanding contributions to hunter/jumper sport. To date, 49 champions have been welcomed into the Hall of Fame, including 18 horses and ponies, 22 humans, five organizations, and four teams.

The Jump Canada Hall of Fame committee is comprised of Mark Samuel (Chairman), Jennifer Anstey, Evie Frisque, Muffie Guthrie, Dalene Paine, Phil Rozon, Jennifer Ward, and Nancy Wetmore.

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://www.equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada/.


Filed Under