Equine Canada Welcomes Nominations for 2015 National Awards 

Equine Canada (EC) would like to remind the equestrian community that nominations are currently being accepted for the 2015 EC National Awards and will remain open until March 31, 2016 at 3 p.m. ET. 

In addition, please take note of the following update:

Due to a high level of public interest, EC is pleased to announce that the 2015 Equine Canada Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy has been opened to external nominations.

Created in memory of the late Susan Jane Anstey (1946-2005), a talented publisher and working journalist who provided invaluable contributions to Canadian equine interests, the Media Award is presented to an exceptional individual or corporate entity who has delivered outstanding media coverage that served to enhance the image of Canadian equine interests to the public.

The full Media Award criteria, information and nomination forms can be found on the EC Awards web page, here.

The Awards web page also includes full details and nomination forms for the full list of 2015 EC National Awards open to external nomination:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy
  • Horse of the Year – The Hickstead Trophy
  • Canadian Breeder of the Year
  • Builder of the Year (NEW!)
  • Boehringer Ingelheim Equine Canada Health & Welfare Award

If you know a person, horse or organization who deserves the honour and recognition of an Equine Canada National Award, be sure to submit your nomination by the deadline of March 31, 2016 at 3 p.m. ET.

Nomination forms can be submitted via:

Email: awards@equinecanada.ca
Fax: 613-248-3484
Mail: Equine Canada Awards Committee c/o Christine Rowland, 308 Legget Dr., Suite 100, Ottawa, ON K2K 1Y6

About the EC Awards Gala

The EC National Awards for 2015 will be honoured at the 2016 EC Awards Gala, taking place on April 22 during the 2016 EC Annual Convention in Montreal, QC. This year’s Gala will be one for the books, taking place at Montreal’s iconic Dalhousie Station, home of Cirque Éloize. In addition to the award presentations, Gala attendees will also enjoy gourmet appetizers and dinner, unique and exciting entertainment from Cirque Éloize performers, and the grand unveiling of the new EC brand. Don’t miss out – buy your Gala ticket today by visiting the Convention Registration portal.

About the Awards Committee

Supporting the 2015 EC National Awards nomination and selection process is a panel of dynamic and highly respected members of the Canadian equestrian community: 

Karen Sparks (Chair) | EC Board Member, Executive Director of Wesley Clover Parks
Michael Boyd | EC Category C (National Equestrian Organizations) Representative, Chair of the Canadian Hanoverian Society
Deanna Phelan | EC Board Member, CBC Commentator, President of the New Brunswick Equestrian Association
Liz Saunders | EC Board Member, President of Horse Council BC

Filed Under