REMINDER: Deadline for Equine Canada National Award Nominations is March 31

Nominations for the 2015 EC National Awards will close on March 31, 2016 at 3 p.m. ET.

The following 2015 EC National Awards are open for nominations from EC registered participants, sport licence holders and provincial sport association members:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy
  • Horse of the Year – The Hickstead Trophy
  • Canadian Breeder of the Year
  • Builder of the Year (NEW!)
  • Boehringer Ingelheim Equine Canada Health & Welfare Award
  • Equine Canada Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy

The 2015 Builder of the Year Award, new for this year, will follow a “people’s choice” format. After the close of nominations, a list of candidates for the Builder of the Year Award will be put forward by the EC Awards Committee, and the Canadian equestrian community will be encouraged to vote on the award recipient via EC’s social media channels. Voting will open on April 4, 2016 and close on April 13, 2016. Keep an eye on EC’s Facebook and Twitter pages for further details regarding the people’s choice voting process for the Builder of the Year Award!

Nominations for all other awards will be reviewed, discussed and decided on by the EC Awards Committee:

Karen Sparks (Chair) | EC Board Member, Executive Director of Wesley Clover Parks

Michael Boyd | EC Category C (National Equestrian Organizations) Representative, Chair of the Canadian Hanoverian Society

Deanna Phelan | EC Board Member, CBC Commentator, President of the New Brunswick Equestrian Association

Liz Saunders | EC Board Member, President of Horse Council BC

If you know a person, horse or organization that deserves the honour and recognition of an Equine Canada National Award, be sure to submit your nomination by the deadline of March 31, 2016 at 3 p.m. ET. Visit the EC website for full information, including nomination forms. 

About the EC Awards Gala

The EC National Awards for 2015 will be honoured at the 2016 EC Awards Gala, a black tie event taking place on April 22 during the 2016 EC Annual Convention in Montreal, QC. This year’s Gala will be one for the books, taking place at Montreal’s iconic Dalhousie Station, home of Cirque Éloize. In addition to the award presentations, Gala attendees will also enjoy gourmet appetizers and dinner, unique and exciting entertainment from Cirque Éloize performers, and the grand unveiling of the new EC brand. Don’t miss out – buy your Gala ticket today by visiting the Convention Registration portal.

Filed Under