Six New Directors Elected to 2016 Equine Canada Board

The Equine Canada (EC) Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the six (6) new Directors who have been elected to the 2016 EC Board.

Per Bylaw 4.2 a) there were six (6) Director positions to be filled by election in 2016:

  • Four (4) positions will be for a three-year term ending in 2019.
  • Two (2) positions will be for a two-year term ending in 2018.

The newly elected Directors are as follows:

Dominique Chagnon – QC
Lisa Lazarus – QC
Ross Millar – ON
Terrance Millar – ON
Doug Orr – AB
Frédéric Pierrestiger – QC

The following returning Directors will round out the 2016 EC Board:

Al Patterson – ON
Tony Eames – ON
Peggy Hambly – ON
Jorge Bernhard – ON
Liz Saunders – BC
Deanna Phelan – NB

During the call for EC Board candidates, a total of 13 applications were submitted to EC’s Nominating Committee by the deadline of Feb. 1, 2016. The Nominating Committee interviewed all applicants and unanimously agreed on eight candidates for the ballot.

The ballot was put forward to a vote on March 8, 2016, and the successful candidates were elected by 26 of the 27 voting members from Categories A, B, and C, as defined in the Equine Canada Governance Policy Manual.

“On behalf of EC, I welcome the new Directors to the EC Board, and look forward to the unique contributions and strengths each new Director will bring to EC,” said EC President, Al Patterson. “I would also like to thank all candidates who submitted their name for consideration, the Nominating Committee for their time and effort to build a rigorous recruitment and selection process, and the EC voting members for their engaged voting.”

More information on the 2016 EC Board election, including the Nominating Committee Report on the 2016 Director Candidates, and the 2016 Director Election Procedures and Guidelines, can be found here.

About the EC Nominating Committee

The EC Nominating Committee was created by the EC Board of Directors with reporting responsibility to the Board and EC’s membership. The duties and responsibilities of the Nominating Committee include identifying necessary competencies and skills of ideal board candidates, creating a rigorous nomination system, recruiting qualified individuals to stand for election as directors, and presenting a slate of candidates to the voting membership.

EC’s current Nominating Committee members are as follows:

 Jorge Bernhard

Chair (non-voting)

 Mark Samuel

Category A Representative

 Karen Sparks

Category A Representative

 Susan Thompson

Category B Representative

 Diane Goyette

Category B Representative

 Michael Boyd

Category C Representative

 Richard Mackenzie

Category C Representative

Filed Under