Victoria Winter Named 2014 Dressage Canada Volunteer of the of the Year

Dressage Canada is pleased to announce that Victoria Winter has been named the 2014 Dressage Canada Volunteer of the Year.

Winter, a former Canadian Equestrian Team athlete was the chef d’équipe of the Canadian Dressage Team at the 2014 World Equestrian Games (WEG), which were held in Normandy, FRA, this past summer.

It is an extremely detailed and collaborative effort to get all the Canadian horses, riders and support staff to a major international event like WEG, and under Winter’s leadership and with the benefit of her competition experience, Winter made sure that the Games would be an outstanding success for Canada.

Winter was also on the Canadian Olympic Committee Athletes’ Council from 1998 through 2010 and served as the Chair of that Council for three years.  From 2003 through 2006 she was also a member of the Executive Committee of the Canadian Olympic Committee. She was the athlete representative on the Dressage Management Committee and served on the Dressage Canada Board from 1996 through to 2008.

“We could not have done it without you, Victoria, and cannot thank you enough. What an amazing chef d’équipe,” said the chair of Dressage Canada, Sarah Bradley.

Winter, who in addition to riding internationally for Canada at major Games, was also the chef d’équipe for the silver medal winning Canadian Dressage Team at the 2003 Pan American Games in the Dominican Republic.

The Dressage Canada Volunteer Recognition Award aims to recognize and acknowledge the contributions of individuals that give their time to Dressage Canada. The nominee does not necessarily have to be currently involved, but may have given outstanding contributions and service in the past.

Past recipients of this award have included Kerri McGregor, Elizabeth Robinson, Carolyn Tipler, Claire Milton, Gwen Beaton, Hazel Stinson, Linda Dieno, Linda Lockhart, Shirley Guertin-Cook, Valerie Frost, Nicole Duplessis, the Dressage Canada Hall of Fame organizing committee (Kim Goodyear, Nancy Petersons, Elizabeth Elming, Cathy Lane, Debbie Elming, Kim Izzo, Elizabeth McMullen and Rebecca Elming), .

Filed Under